Use Security Roles in Dynamics CRM 2016 to Limit What Users Can See and Become More Efficient

Posted on: September 30, 2016 | By: Craig Thompson | Microsoft Dynamics CRM

Within Microsoft Dynamics CRM 2016 there are a number of Out-of-the-Box security roles which allow users varying degrees of access to the system. Some security roles allow for more or less access to data and information while some give system functionality and settings updates. Depending on a user’s role within an organization, you may want to limit their access to certain pieces of information for security and data integrity purposes. Conversely, some users may not want to see certain entities or data because they do not use it and it clutters their view of the CRM system. Below I will show you how to create new roles to easily remove pieces of information from a user’s screen to provide a cleaner and safer CRM Organization.

 

Create a Custom CRM Security Role to Adjust What Users Will View on their Screen

In the below example we will create a variation of the Salesperson security role to create a custom role for a new type of salesperson. Maybe this does not use the Competitors, Orders, and Invoices entities as shown in the Sales module for a normal sales person. We can remove these by updating the security role.  

Note here that we are going to create a new role as opposed to updating the salesperson role. We have the ability to simply copy the role, rename it, and update it to fit our customizations. This leaves the original role intact so that you do not have to change all of the salespeople and can save how the original role was initially set up. To do this you will navigate to Settings -> Security -> then click Security Roles. Click on the security role you would like to update. Then click the Actions dropdown at the top of the form and click Copy Role.


Rename the role and click okay to ‘clone’ your current role. Now you are ready to make any changes to your new role while keeping the original as is. You will need to ask your System Administrator to help with this update if you do not have the appropriate privileges.

 

Update Your New Role

To update your role, you will want to click inside the bubbles on the new role’s form to either add or remove functionality. In our example we are going to remove availability to use the Competitor, Invoice, and Order entity. To do this you click each bubble related to those entities until the circle is empty. Now click save and close and assign users to the role as necessary. Here you can see that under the sales module, the removed entities are not appearing and the users no longer have access.

If you think that a CRM system is your next best step for your business, contact Logan Consulting your Microsoft Dynamics CRM partner of Chicago.



2020 Nucleus Research Report on ERP Technology

Free Download:

2020 Nucleus Research Report on ERP Technology

Download the guide ›